Lady Sings The Blues

Vinyl LP

Vinyl LP repressing of this album from the Jazz legend. The Los Angeles sessions dating from 1954 offer a fresher-sounding Billie, but that in no way diminishes the quality of the songs recorded in New York City. When it was originally released on Clef records, Down Beat magazine gave the album a glowing review and five stars. In their review of the 78-rpm release of Love Me Or Leave Me coupled with I Thought About You, Down Beat said: 'What counts is the penetratingly personal presence of Lady Day.' When the album came out, there was a concert at New York City's Carnegie Hall on 10 November 1956 featuring much of this material along with readings from her autobiography. It was a sellout and despite the limitations with Billie's voice she delivered a superb performance. In less than three years, however, she would be dead.


  1. Trav'lin' Light (Johnny Mercer-Jimmy Mundy-Trummy Young)
  2. I MUST HAVE THAT MAN! (Jimmy McHugh-Dorothy Fields
  3. SOME OTHER SPRING (Arthur Herzog Jr.-Irene Kitchings)
  4. LADY SINGS THE BLUES (Herbie Nichols-Billie Holiday)
  5. STRANGE FRUIT (Lewis Allan) 
  6. GOD BLESS THE CHILD (Billie Holiday-Arthur Herzog Jr.) 
  7. GOOD MORNING, HEARTACHE (Ervin Drake-Dan Fisher-Irene Higginbotham) 3:32
  8. NO GOOD MAN (Sammy Gallop-Dan Fisher-Irene Higginbotham)
  9. LOVE ME OR LEAVE ME (Walter Donaldson-Gus Kahn) 
  10. TOO MARVELOUS FOR WORDS (Richard Whiting-Johnny Mercer)
  11. WILLOW WEEP FOR ME (Ann Ronell)
  12. I THOUGHT ABOUT YOU (Jimmy Van Heusen-Johnny Mercer)
  13. P.S. I LOVE YOU (Gordon Jenkins-Johnny Mercer)