Labour of Lust

Vinyl LP

As the bassist and primary songwriter for Brinsley Schwarz, Nick Lowe was one of the catalysts of the pub rock phenomenon in the early 1970s. As the co-founder and house producer at Stiff Records, he would help create the blueprint for the modern indie rock label and usher in British punk and new wave, helming historic recordings for The Damned, Elvis Costello, and The Pretenders. Here, his landmark second solo album Labour of Lust gets the deluxe reissue treatment, sporting an expanded 12pg. booklet with period photos, new essays and artwork by groundbreaking graphic artist Barney Bubbles. The reissue also includes Nick's biggest US hit ''Cruel To Be Kind'', the originally U.K.-only ''Endless Grey Ribbon'' and U.S.-only ''American Squirm''; plus bonus B-side ''Basing Street.'' LOL is the only of Lowe's solo albums to hold the distinction of featuring Nick's Rockpile cohorts Dave Edmunds, Billy Bremner and Terry Williams on every track. Originally released in 1979 and out of print for nearly twenty years, the album ha

s been remastered from the original source, reintroducing this masterpiece to a new generation of pop music obsessives.


A1 Cruel To Be Kind 
A2 Cracking Up
A3 Big Kick, Plain Scrap 
A4 American Squirm
Backing Vocals – Elvis Costello
Drums – Pete Thomas
A5 Born Fighter
Harmonica – Huey Lewis
A6 You Make Me 
A7 Skin Deep
B1 Switchboard Susan
B2 Endless Grey Ribbon
Synthesizer [Oberheim] – Bob Andrews
B3 Without Love 
B4 Dose Of You 
B5 Love So Fine 
Bonus Track
B6 Basing Street
Acoustic Guitar – Nick Lowe