Dub From the Roots

Vinyl LP

Tubby did three original dub albums, Dub From The Roots, The Roots Of Dub and the third is Brass Rockers with Tommy McCook on the flying cymbals. Where he mixed it with the horn going in and out in a dub way and one named Shalom Dub you can call Tubby’s too because he mixed the versions as they were off the forty fives. King Tubby and Producer Bunny “Striker” Lee are intertwined in the birth of Dub Music. After discovering a mistake that made a “serious joke” (more of which later…) they went on to release the first pressings of this new musical genre namely “Dub Music”. Tubby’s vast knowledge of electronics and Bunny’s vast catalogue of rhythms would lay the foundations of what today is taken as a standard.


1. Dub From The Roots
2. Iyahta
3. Mine Field
4. Hijack The Barber
5. African Roots
6. Double Cross
7. East Of (Arrows Hi-Fi)
8. Invasion
9. Dub Of A Woman
10. Dub On My Mind
11. Steeling
12. Dub Experience
13. Declaration Of Dub
14. A Truthful Dub