Blue Raspberry (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP



F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

If you somehow missed Katy Kirby's 2021 debut Cool Dry Place, it's abso-toot-ly worth revisiting. If you were already in love with that record, you'll be pleased as punch to hear there's another round of freshly baked tunes on the way, this time courtesy of brilliant label Anti-! Fans of Waxahatchee, The Beths, and Julia Jacklin will find a lot to love in Kirby's melodic anthems and songs of queer love and loss. - Flying Out

Blue Raspberry is Katy Kirby's follow up to her renowned debut album Cool Dry Place, which came out in February 2021. Singer/songwriter Katy Kirby introduced her warm, articulate vocals, perceptive lyrics, and playful adult-alternative style on her debut album as she toured tirelessly supporting bands like Waxahatchee, Andy Shauf, Julia Jacklin and Alex G.

That record was a tried-and-true folk collection, perfectly displaying the chops of a young songwriter and emanating the warm feel of a band in a room; Blue Raspberry, made with the same band and producers (Logan Chung and Alberto Sewald), hits the gas and enters completely new territory as we see Katy truly step into her own as a songwriting force. She fearlessly leans far into baroque piano pop on tracks like Redemption Arc and the title track Blue Raspberry, and lyrically she explores themes of loss and queer love. Very few are able to capture the same emotional, theatrical magic of artists like Fiona Apple, Tom Waits and Joanna Newsom but Katy pulls it off on this record; standout Drop Dead.


1. Redemption Arc
2. Fences
3. Cubic Zirconia
4. Hand to Hand
5. Wait Listen
6. Drop Dead
7. Party of the Century
8. Alexandria
9. Salt Crystal
10. Blue Raspberry
11. Table