Blue Cheese




F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Available on CD. 2016 release from the New Zealand-based psych pop artist. Blue Cheese picks up on the rough disaffection of his earlier demo collection, A Pebble and a Paper Crane, which he recorded in a WWII bomb shelter in Germany. Back in his hometown of Dunedin, New Zealand, Strang spent two curious months alone, housesitting for his parents. Re-nested, yet still isolated, Strang composed all of Blue Cheese over those quiet days. Lead-off track The Web channels pummeling bass lines punctuated by a twinkling synth that calls upon microscopic pop principalities of restlessness. Its abrupt ending parallels Strangs own disconnect. Shes Appealing weaves Day-Glo guitar motifs into distant, detached 80s garage pop vocals. Never Kissed a Blonde is driven by a slapping delay on both vocals and guitar. Strangs path toward a melody is always surprising, and he never misses a hit-on-the-head-obvious-in-retrospect memorable line.


  1. The Web
  2. Things Are Never Simple
  3. Full Moon Hungry Sun
  4. Run Rings
  5. What's Wrong?
  6. The Canyon Her River Carved
  7. It's Fine
  8. You Think
  9. She's Appealing
  10. Never Missed A Blonde
  11. Scarlet King Magno