North American Poetry

In 2000, Alberto Wauters left Uruguay to live in a basement in Queens. Two years later he called his son, Juan, to join him. Juan turned to music to take control of the loneliness of living in Jackson Heights. In his debut solo record, N.A.P. North American Poetry, Wauters dreams big; coming into his own as a singer. Building on his songwriting, popularized by The Beets, Juan presents introspective tracks, like Water and Sanity, and reflections on humans’ relationship with technology in songs like Breathing—which features Carmelle Safdie. This album is a selection of recordings made between the fall of 2010 and the summer of 2012 at Marlborough Farms. N.A.P. delivers a fresh sound and lyrical candor from one of Queens’ most idiosyncratic adoptive sons.


1. Let Me Hip You To Something 
2. Sanity Or Not 
3. Lost In Soup
4. Escucho Mucho 
5. Woke Up Feeling Like Sleeping 
6. Water
7. Goo 
8. All Tall Mall Wall Fall 
9. Continue To Be You 
10. Breathing (Feat. Carmelle) 
11. How Do They All Do (Feat. Carmelle)
12. Ay Ay Ay