Song to a Seagull (Reissue) (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP

AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

Joni Mitchell's songs were already popular with the likes of Tom Rush and Judy Collins when David Crosby saw her potential as a performer and brought her to Reprise Records.

Released in March 1968, Mitchell's Crosby-produced debut features relatively simple instrumentation, but the dense, sophisticated songwriting showed Joni was already looking beyond the folk idiom for inspiration (hints of classical composition can be heard here). The ten originals on Song to a Seagull are split conceptually into two sides: I Came to the City, which sketches such melancholy urban characters as Nathan la Franeer, and Out of the City and Down to the Seaside, whose odes to the freedom of nature soar beautifully.

The original mix has been recently updated by Mitchell and mixer Matt Lee.


1. I Had A King (2021 Remaster)
2. Michael From Mountains (2021 Remaster)
3. Night In The City (2021 Remaster)
4. Marcie (2021 Remaster)
5. Nathan La Franeer (2021 Remaster)
6. Sisotowbell Lane (2021 Remaster)
7. The Dawntreader (2021 Remaster)
8. The Pirate Of Penance (2021 Remaster)
9. Song To A Seagull (2021 Remaster)
10. Cactus Tree (2021 Remaster)

Please note that Song to a Seagull (Reissue) (Vinyl LP) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.