The Loop (Reissue) (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP


Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

Vibes player Johnny Lytle was one of the heroes of the early acid jazz club circuit, with his cuts Selim and The Man being anthems of the scene. The Ohio-born player’s first album as a leader was on the Jazzland label in 1962 with Nice And Easy. His second, three years later, on Riverside, The Village Caller, made him a star in the jazz world. When Riverside encountered difficulties, co-owner Orrin Keepnews collaborated with Lytle on two albums which came out on the Detroit label, Tuba.

The first of theseThe Loop, featured his regular trio partners, organist Milt Harris and drummer “Peppy Hinnant. This line-up was augmented on some tracks by former Miles Davis pianist Wynton Kelly and bassist George Duvivier. A 7” version of the title track actually spent five weeks in the Billboard Hot 100 in January 1966. As for the album, as well as the acid jazz cut The Man, it features a stunning version of Duke Pearson's Cristo Redentor and the dancefloor-friendly Possum Grease and Hot Sauce. The band also stretch out on extended track The Shyster.

The Loop is a classic album and Ace’s pressing is the first time it has been legally reissued on vinyl. 


1. The Loop 
2. The More I See You 
3. The Man 
4. Time After Time 
5. Big Bill 
6. Possum Grease 
7. Cristo Redentor 
8. The Shyster 
9. My Romance
10. Hot Sauce