Ballads (Reissue)

Vinyl LP

IMPORTED TITLE. This product is sourced from overseas.
Usually ships within 4-5 weeks.



F|O Points on this item

In 1962 John Coltrane was under assault from conservative critics who had labeled his tumultuous extended performances "anti-jazz". In response he entered the studios to create this classic collection of both well known and obscure ballads. Coltrane was one of jazz's greatest ballad players, a fact sometimes overlooked in the controversy that swirled about his work, and his lyrical gifts are in sharp relief here. They're transmitted through one of the most beautiful tones that jazz has ever produced, suggesting a rare metal that has just been discovered. The material brings out the best in pianist McCoy Tyner, who is prominently featured and whose harmonic subtlety and limpid grace shine throughout.

A1. Say It (Over And Over Again)
A2. You Don't Know What Love Is
A3. Too Young To Go Steady
A4. All Or Nothing At All
B1. I Wish I Knew
B2. What's New
B3. It's Easy To Remember
B4. Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
B5. Greensleeves (Bonustrack)

Please note that Ballads (Reissue) is currently not in store but is an imported title from an overseas supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-3 weeks for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.