Afro Blue Impressions (Reissue) (Vinyl 2LP)

Vinyl 2LP

Afro Blue Impressions, recorded in 1963 during Coltrane's European tour, is now reissued on vinyl. The legendary saxophonist is considered to be one of the most influential musicians of the 20th century.

The recordings that make up Afro Blue Impressions were acquired by jazz impresario/auteur Norman Granz during the tours he produced for many jazz artists during the 1960s, though they weren't issued until 1973. Recorded at shows in Berlin and Stockholm, the John Coltrane Quartet - with McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Garrison, Elvin Jones - is in tremendous form here, using a familiar repertoire in order to expand upon the group's own building blocks in creating the new post-harmonic system that the saxophonist was developing. Afro Blue Impressions is a rhythm collision, where mode gives way to some of Trane's most angular soprano playing, pushing the limits of the instrument and his own dexterity to near breaking points. This is the sound of one of the greatest - albeit short-lived - quartets in jazz history completely coming into its own in concert.


A1. Lonnie's Lament
A2. Naima
A3. Chasin' the Trane 
B1. My Favorite Things
C1. Afro Blue 
C2. Cousin Mary 
C3. I Want To Talk About You 
D1. Spiritual 
D2. Impressions