Jimi Hendrix Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concert (LP)

8LP Vinyl Boxset

AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

Songs For Groovy Children assembles all four historic debut concerts by Jimi Hendrix's newly assembled Band of Gypsys at New York's Fillmore East on New Years Eve 1969 and New Years Day 1970. Presented in their original performance sequence and encompassing 43 tracks across 8 LPs, the set boasts over two dozen tracks that have either never before been released commercially. Newly mixed and restored in sequence without edits, fans can finally hear Hendrix, Cox and Miles blast through their genre-defying sets that included freshly written songs like Earth Blues and Stepping Stone, as well as supercharged Experience favorites inclusive of Foxey Lady, Voodoo Child (Slight Return), Wild Thing, Hey Joe and Purple Haze. The lavish package is filled with unseen photos and remembrances from bassist Billy Cox and liner notes by author/journalist/filmmaker Nelson George. Songs For Groovy Children was produced by Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer and John McDermott and mastered by Grammy-winning engineer Bernie Grundman.


LP 1

Side 1
1) Power Of Soul
2) Lover Man
3) Hear My Train A Comin'

Side 2
1) Changes
2) Izabella
3) Machine Gun

LP 2

Side 1
1) Stop
2) Ezy Ryder
3) Bleeding Heart

Side 2
1) Earth Blues
2) Burning Desire

12/31/69 2nd Set:

LP 3

Side 1
1) Auld Lang Syne%
2) Who Knows %
3) Fire

Side 2
1) Ezy Ryder*
2) Machine Gun%

LP 4

Side 1
1) Stone Free
2) Changes*

Side 2
1) Message To Love*
2) Stop*
3) Foxey Lady

1/1/70 1st Set:

LP 5

Side 1
1) Who Knows +
2) Machine Gun+

Side 2
1) Changes+
2) Power Of Soul%
3) Stepping Stone%
4) Foxey Lady+

LP 6

Side 1
1) Stop %
2) Earth Blues+
3) Burning Desire%

1/1/70 2nd Set:

Side 2
1) Stone Free%
2) Power Of Soul#

LP 7

Side 1
1) Changes#
2) Message To Love#

Side 2
1) Machine Gun%
2) Lover Man*
3) Steal Away*

LP 8

Side 1
1) Earth Blues%
2) Voodoo Child (Slight Return)%
3) We Gotta Live Together#

Side 2
1) Wild Thing%
2) Hey Joe*
3) Purple Haze*

*previously unreleased

+first time on CD/LP/streaming (previously only available as part of concert film)

#longer, unedited versions of previously released material, and newly remixed

%back in print on CD/LP for the first time in a decade, and newly remixed

Please note that Jimi Hendrix Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concert (LP) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.