IMPORTED TITLE. This product is sourced from overseas.
Usually ships within 2-3 weeks.



F|O Points on this item

Canadian songwriter and producer Jeremy Haywood-Smith needed an escape from his state of mourning when he began working on Slingshot, his most recent LP as JayWood. After the loss of his mother in 2019, and a global standstill with multiple social crises throughout 2020, Haywood-Smith yearned for some forward momentum. “The idea of looking back to go forward became a really big thing for me – hence the title, Slingshot.”
Feeling disconnected from his past and ancestry after the death of a parent, Haywood-Smith made a conscious effort to better understand his identity and unique Black experience living in the predominantly white province of Manitoba. Merging fantasy scenarios, personal anecdotes, and infectious pop and dance instrumentals, Slingshot is a self-portrait of JayWood at his surface and his depths.
Musically, Slingshot reaches into sounds and styles Haywood-Smith has continued to explore throughout his catalog. “I think I made a really big deal to not pigeonhole myself,” he explains. “Whatever is inspiring me at one point will work it’s way into whatever I’m creating.” Slingshot is an amalgamation of Haywood-Smith’s many musical sensibilities, achieved with help from a crew of talented peers. Haywood-Smith wrote and performed a bulk of the track’s instrumentations, but the LP has notable appearances from Canadian contemporaries Ami Cheon (on 'Just Sayin') and McKinley Dixon (on 'Shine'.) The album’s penultimate track, 'Thank You', was co-produced with Jacob Portrait of Unknown Mortal Orchestra. The song brings JayWood’s sound full circle, offering something reminiscent of Haywood-Smith’s earliest recordings, while flaunting that “The best is yet to come.”

Tracklisting (LP):
  1. Intro (End Of An Era)
  2. God Is A Reptile
  3. All Night Long
  4. Just saying (feat. Ami Cheon)
  5. Is It True (Dreams Pt. 3)
  6. Kitchen Floor
  7. Shine (feat. McKinley Dixon)
  8. Tulips
  9. Thank You
Tracklisting (CD):
  1. Intro (End Of An Era)
  2. God Is A Reptile
  3. Pray, Move On
  4. All Night Long
  5. Just saying (feat. Ami Cheon)
  6. Is It True (Dreams Pt. 3)
  7. Kitchen Floor
  8. Shine (feat. McKinley Dixon)
  9. Tulips
  10. YGBO - Interlude
  11. Thank You
  12. Arrival (Outro)

    Please note that Slingshot is currently not in store but is an imported title from an overseas supplier.

    Most of the time it takes around 2-3 weeks for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.