Anak Ko

Vinyl LP (Coloured)

Melina Duterte is a master of voice: Hers are dream pop songs that hint at a universe of her own creation. Recording as Jay Som since 2015, Duterte’s world of shy, swirling intimacies always contains a disarming ease, a sky-bent sparkle and a grounding indie-rock humility.

Inspired by the lush, poppy sounds of 80s bands such as Prefab Sprout, the Cure, and Cocteau Twins, as well as the ecstatic guitar work of contemporary Vancouver band Weed, Anak Ko sounds dazzlingly tactile and firmly present. The result is a refreshingly precise sound.


1 If You Want It
2 Superbike
3 Peace Out
4 Devotion
5 Nighttime Drive
6 Tenderness
7 Anak Ko
8 Crown
9 Get Well