Javelin (CD)


AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

Fans, and we are many, of the all-time Sufjan masterpiece Carrie & Lowell will be acutely aware that since its 2015 release there hasn't been a Sufjan solo record quite like it. Rejoice, rejoice, for this is set to be its spiritual sequel, with recent singles So You Are Tired and Will Anybody Ever Love Me? having our spines tingling already, while newest single A Running Start has some of the whimsical orchestration of his Illinoise era. Uncut Magazine praised it by calling it "a proper Sufjan Stevens album", and there's nothing more exciting than that.  - Flying Out

Over the course of his career, Sufjan Stevens has blurred distinctions between the major and the minor, between the details that color our existence and the big events that frame our lives. He has turned historical footnotes of States into kaleidoscopic pop, and rendered the immeasurable grief of loss with intimacy and grace.His new album JavelinSufjan's first solo album of songs since 2020's The Ascension and his first in full solo singer-songwriter mode since 2015's Carrie & Lowell — bridges all these approaches. Sufjan uses the quietness of a solitary confession to ask universal questions in songs we can share communally. Accompanying the CD and LP formats of the album is a 48-page book of art and essays. With a series of meticulous collages, cut-up catalog fantasies, puff-paint word clouds, and iterative color fields, Sufjan builds order from seeming chaos and vice versa. And toward the middle of it all are 10 short essays by Sufjan, another window into the process that informed Javelin.

  1. Goodbye Evergreen
  2. A Running Start
  3. Will Anybody Ever Love Me?
  4. Everything That Rises
  5. Genuflecting Ghost
  6. My Red Little Fox
  7. So You Are Tired
  8. Javelin (To Have and to Hold)
  9. Shit Talk
  10. There’s a World

Please note that Javelin (CD) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.