Invisible Forces



Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

Pianist and composer James Heather is one of the new artists flourishing in the wake of classically trained artists such as Nils FrahmMax Richter and Hidden Orchestra instrumentalist Poppy Ackroyd, who have all drawn increasingly broad audiences to solo piano.


Heather’s new album, Invisible Forces, is as much influenced by the sensibility of electronic music and the exploration of post-rock as it is by classical music and jazz.

A step forward from his debut album, the songs are more emodiverse and are developed through a series of improvisation techniques with each track performed in a single take on piano, an instrument he has a long love story with.

‘Composing these songs gave me an anchor to feel more present in life after some troubling times and sent me on a journey to rediscover a kind of wonderment with the world. I hope the Invisible Forces universe will bring warmth to other people too.’

Invisible Forces is released by Ahead of Our Time, Ninja Tune founders Coldcut’s resurrected first label.

On the @0 compilation of ambient music by Coldcut x Mixmaster Morris Heather played piano on a new version of the seminal ambient track ‘Autumn Leaves Return’ by Irresistible Force X Coldcut


  1. Meant To Be
  2. No Time Limit To Grief
  3. In Your Spirit
  4. Balance
  5. Ultraviolet
  6. Forgotten Cities
  7. Invisible Forces
  8. Ancestral Future Now
  9. Beginnings
  10. Hidden Angel
  11. Immortal Beloved