The Man! The Ultimate Isaac Hayes 1969-1977

Stax Records


This item is currently unavailable.

This set provides an accurate overview of the Stax era recordings of the only man fit to be called "The Black Moses Of Soul" -- Isaac Hayes. Prior to becoming a solo artist, Hayes and partner David Porter were collectively responsible for well over 200 sides -- including the genre defining "When Something Is Wrong With My Baby," "Soul Man," "B-A-B-Y," " "Hold On, I'm Comin'," and "I Had a Dream." Hayes then redefined the role of the long player with his inimitably smooth narrative style of covering classic pop and R&B tracks, many of which would spiral well over ten minutes. 


  1. Ike's Mood 1
  2.  Walk On By
  3.  Never Can Say Goodbye
  4.  Feel Like Making Love
  5.  Do Your Thing
  6. Joy
  7.  I Can't Turn Around
  8. Disco Connection
  9.  Chocolate Chip
  10. Storm Is Over
  11.  I Stand Accused
  12.  Ike's Rap 2
  13.  Theme From Shaft
  14. Theme From The Men
  15. Good Love
  16.  Wonderful
  17.  Rolling Down A Mountainside
  18.  Black Moses (Radio Ad)
  19. Part Time Love 
  20.  By The Time I Get To Phoenix
  21.  The Look Of Love