Continuous Portrait

$30.00 $40.00



F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

On their first album together since Maze of Woods (2015), Matthew Robert Cooper (Eluvium) and Mark T. Smith (Explosions in the Sky) further their creative curiosities as Inventions and release the beautiful new record A Continuous Portrait.

A Continuous Portrait is an album of strange hypnosis, punctuated by songs that venture quite far from the respective oeuvres of Cooper and Smith. Spry, playful layers bounce against a steady thrum of rhythms and samples from everyday noises, while the dancing lightness of Outlook for the Future is met with a storm of emotional resonance. The music emerges as a distinctively different direction for Inventions - and the two members' day-jobs - and it is that very sense of exploration, pleasure, and ceremonial melancholia which informs the entire record from front to back.

"Unlike many similar instrumental projects, Continuous Portrait is suffused with hope and empathy, but also a keenly executed sense of adventure. It's both sonically thrilling and oddly soothing" Popmatters


1. Hints and Omens
2. Calico
3. Continuous Portrait
4. Outlook for the Future
5. Close to People
6. Spirit Refinement Exploder
7. The Warmer the Welcome
8. A Time in My Life
9. Saw You in a Movie

RIYL: Eluvium, Explosions in the Sky, This Will Destroy You