Same Place the Fly Got Smashed (Reissue) (Limited Red Vinyl LP)

This item is scheduled to be released on

Limited Red Vinyl LP



F|O Points on this item

How does your pre-order work?

Dayton, Ohio champs Guided By Voices released their fourth album Same Place the Fly Got Smashed in 1990, a lo-fi gem that ultra-prolific songwriter and bandleader Robert Pollard himself considers to feature some of his best work. A concept album of sorts that tells the story of Joker Bob, an alcoholic who commits murder and then (spoiler) ends up being executed by electric chair. Faithfully reproduced for reissue, the album lands again later this month! - Flying Out

Originally released in 1990, Same Place The Fly Got Smashed was Guided By Voices’ fourth album in as many years. Roughly a concept album about an alcoholic named Joker Bob who goes on a bender, someone dies, and Bob gets the chair (“the electrifying conclusion”). From the moment the needle drops, the listener is served notice that this isn’t going to be an easy listen, as an argument taped off of a TV cuts to a basement recording of a lone, blaring electric guitar with someone yelling over the top. But for those brave enough to pass the opening hazards, there are wonders within.

This particular album has come to be held in higher and higher regard by fans, and they are correct to consider it a top-tier release. The story and sequence have a flow, and consideration for approachability is optional. Many of the crudest tracks reveal themselves as necessary stitches in the album’s tapestry. Yet it also contains all time greats like Drinker’s Peace, Mammoth Cave, the epic Local Mix-Up/ Murder Charge, and of course Pendulum with its immortal opening line: “Come on over tonight, we’ll put on some Cat Butt and do it up right!”—a rare break in the clouds on one of the band’s darkest albums.

This reissue, like the previous ones in this series, is a mostly faithful reproduction of the original pressing of 500 on the band’s own Rocket #9 label. And like the others, the virgin RTI vinyl is housed in a thick tip-on jacket, and includes Robert Pollard’s original handwritten lyric insert.


1. Airshow '88
2. Order For The New Slave Trade
3. The Hard Way
4. Drinker's Peace
5. Mammoth Cave
6. When She Turns 50
7. Club Molluska
8. Pendulum
9. Ambergris
10. Local Mix-Up
11. Murder Charge
12. Starboy
13. Blatant Doom Trip
14. How Loft I Am?

When is this released?

Same Place the Fly Got Smashed (Reissue) (Limited Red Vinyl LP) has a scheduled release date of .

In the event of any delays to this date we will keep this page updated and email any pre-order customers.

Pre-Order FAQs

When will I get this?
What if I have other titles in the same order as a pre-order?
Is there a discount?