Reworked By Detroiters


Only 1 left!
or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $11.33 Laybuy What's this?

Ships next business day.


Limited triple vinyl LP pressing. Funkadelic was the most influential group to emerge from Detroit in the 1970s. Their early albums have cast a long shadow over everything that came afterwards in the city. It was music that understood the past but was firmly aiming towards the future and mixed soul, funk and rock into an almost unimaginable stew. This album is a tribute from some of the most important recording artists currently working in the city to these most influential of forefathers. The very finest talent now active in Detroit appear on the record, being given free rein to work on the multi-track tapes, to rework in any way they see fit. We have full-on remixes, futuristic creations using the original track as an inspiration, discofied re-edits and skeletal dubs. Spearheaded by Brendan Gillen of Interdimensional Transmissions, the set features names working across the musical spectrum. There is an appearance by those most mysterious of techno pioneers Underground Resistance, and by Kenny Dixon Jr and his alter-ego Moodymann. The Dirtbombs throw down a frenetic take on 'Super Stupid', whilst disco re-edit expert Gaye Marvine adds his magic to 'Undisco Kidd'. Other contributors include Funkadelic alumni Amp Fiddler, Marcellus Pittman and Anthony Shake Shakir.

  1. Sexy Ways (Recloose Disco Flip)
  2.  You Can't Miss What You Can't Measure (Alton Miller Mix)
  3. Get Your Ass Off and Jam (Marcellus Pittman Remix)
  4.  Cosmic Slop (Moodymann Mix)
  5.  Music for My Mother (Andres Wo Ahh Ay Vocal Mix)
  6.  Super Stupid (Dirtbombs Version)
  7.  Music 4 My Mother (Underground Resistance Mix)
  8.  Undisco Kidd (Gay Marvine Edit)
  9. Take Your Dead Ass Home (The Fantasy Version)
  10.  Let's Take It to the Stage (Amp Fiddler Laughin @Ya Mix)
  11.  Standing on the Verge (Anthony Shake Shakir & T Dancer Remix)
  12.  You and Your Folks (Claude Young JR Club Mix)
  13.  Be My Beach (Mophono & Tom Thump)
  14.  You and Your Folks (Claude Young JR Dub)
  15. Let's Make It Last (Kenny Dixon JR Edit) 
  16. Looking Back at You (Ectomorph Stripped and Dubbed)
  17. Maggot Brain (BMG Dub)