Vinyl LP (Ecomix)

Vinyl color is 'Ecomix'. Ecomix is made up from leftover colored vinyl pellets at the factory. As such each copy is a uniquely different / random colour & effect. Free Love, the cosmic Scottish electronic pop duo Lewis and Suzi Cook, announce their mind-melting new album INSIDE, which is due for release on Lost Map on February 24, 2023. FKA Happy Meals, Free Love and their music are a conscious study in duality: thumping live tracks and meditational mantras, pop songs and esoteric experiments, acoustic and electronic instrumentation, lyrics in French and English, the Masculine and the Feminine, all side-by-side. Paragons of the cross-pollinating Glasgow DIY scene, their rapturous psychedelic odysseys have been emanating from the city since 2013 via esteemed labels including Night School and Optimo Music. Free Love's debut EP Luxury Hits was released in 2018 to much critical acclaim ("a groovy fever dream" - Line of Best Fit) and saw them shortlisted for the Scottish Album of the Year Award (Suzi and Lewis's third SAY Award nomination in all, following two under the Happy Meals moniker). It was followed in 2019 by the mini-album Extreme Dance Anthems ("music to move both body and mind" - Clash).

In 2018 Free Love released a limited-edition vinyl EP, written and recorded on the isle of Eigg as part of Lost Map's V I S I T ▲ T I O N S residency programme - strengthening a long-standing kinship between the band and the label which has seen them perform live many times at Lost Map events on Eigg and elsewhere. It leads to the release on Lost Map in 2023 of Free Love's latest opus INSIDE. Written and recorded at the band's Glasgow home studio during and after the lockdowns of 2020-2021, and completed just before the birth of Lewis and Suzi's son Echo in the summer of 2022, it's 10 tracks of house-quaking acid pop, celestial drones and yogic devotionals are a by-turns banging and blissed-out meditation on life and death, community and seclusion, worlds both outwith and within. A song about "coming back to the centre after spiralling too far and recognising you're not the only person wondering what's going on", Open The Door reaches for the fresh silicon sound of Yellow Magic Orchestra. Stop and Golden Goose channel the space age pop dreams of Broadcast, while Le Mirage and Dans Le Noir take influence from 1970s electronic dance music pioneer Patrick Cowley.

 Free Love's euphoric live show has seen them tour Europe, USA, India and Russia with the likes of The Flaming Lips, Liars and James Holden and The Animal Spirits, with Suzi often tearing through the audience centring the energy in the middle of the room over the live hardware electronics operated by Lewis from the stage turning into a ritualistic communal catharsis. As well as performing their debut Boiler Room live set from their home studio during lockdown, the band remixed music for Django Django and Charlotte Gainsbourg. Genre: Electronic / Italo / Dancepop / Balearic

  1. Le Mirage
  2.  Open the Door
  3.  Fight or Flight
  4.  All the Same to Me
  5.  Golden Goose
  6.  Dans Le Noir
  7.  Don't Stop
  8.  Stop
  9.  It's a Feeling
  10. I Become