African Electronic Music 1975-1982

Vinyl LP

IMPORTED TITLE. This product is sourced from overseas.
Usually ships within 4-5 weeks.



F|O Points on this item

Cameroonian musician Francis Bebey is truly one of a kind. He entered the music scene with his African compositions for classical guitar. He gave recitals while pursuing a career in journalism and then as an international civil servant. The same creative impulse also led him to write pop songs, and some of which (based on novels he had written) became big hits in Africa and in the French-speaking world. But few people know that in the ’70s, Francis Bebey delved into electronic music. The first electronic keyboards, organs and drum machines offered him new possibilities of totally controlling his compositions. He embraced the technique of “sound on sound” recording (recording several tracks, sequentially juxtaposed on the same tape). This new stage in his musical career included the production of several records (“Savannah Georgia,” “New Track”, “Haiti”), rarities both for their creative explorations as well as their manifestations on vinyl. This was a particularly rich period for him, as he tested the limitless possibilities of the medium, and made use of surprising and novel instruments. Incredible sounds – in the literal sense of the word – would soon appear on the planet Bebey… 

  1. La condition masculine 
  2. Wuma Te 
  3. Divorce Pygmée
  4. Fleur Tropicale
  5. Tiers monde 
  6. Agatha 
  7. Pigmy love song 
  8. Catching up 
  9. Sahel 
  10. The coffee cola song 
  11. Super Jungle 
  12. Savanah Georgia 
  13. Il n'y a pas de crocodiles à Cocody

Please note that African Electronic Music 1975-1982 is currently not in store but is an imported title from an overseas supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-3 weeks for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.