NZ’s own worldly indie-pop band, Mild Orange, have amassed near 100 million streams globally since their independent debut album Foreplay released in 2018, featuring their breakout single ‘Some Feeling’, which has had over 23 million views on YouTube. Proving that they’re no one-hit-wonder, their second album spawned the popular single “Freak In Me” amongst other groovers.

The quartet was founded in 2017 by childhood friends Josh Mehrtens and Josh Reid while flatting together during studies at the University of Otago, and later joined by Tom Kelk and Jack Ferguson, who soon after found themselves touring around the world. They are now based in New Plymouth.

Both of Mild Orange’s albums were produced and mixed DIY by frontman Josh Mehrtens in bedrooms, beach houses, the library, and practice rooms throughout Aotearoa New Zealand. Their vinyl records are seldom available long and are a true collectors item worldwide.

Mild Orange released its debut self-produced album ‘Foreplay' on 18 April 2018. 

  1. Intro~
  2. ~Outro
  3. Stranger
  4. Some Feeling
  5. Mysight
  6. Down By The River
  7. Selfish Lover
  8. Losing Time
  9. In The Living Room
  10. Where Are We Now? 
  11. Terandara