Venus Is Home

Erny Belle

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $9.16 Laybuy What's this?

Ships next business day.


Recorded in the summer of 2019 in Maungaturoto, Venus Is Home is the debut album from Aōtearoa folk newcomer Erny Belle (Aimee Renata) – one that immediately establishes the artist as one of the country's finest. It's a stunning introduction to the Ngāpuhi performer and songwriter, who launched the record in February with a sold out show at the Auckland Polish Association.

Venus Is Home captures a sound shaped by the landscape of Aōtearoa. It depicts intimate experiences, and what Belle describes as the push and pull between light and dark – or, what she can’t help referring to in her writing as Heaven and Hell. Her lyrics shift steadfastly from sweet and earnest, to rugged and raw; her storytelling is as painterly, satirical, and dark as it is relatable and open-hearted. The visuals Belle shares alongside the release welcome us into the landscape of Tāmaki Makaurau, and Rural Northern Aōtearoa.

Named as an ode to her late Grandmother Venus, Venus Is Home features contributions from Tiare Kelly, William Jackson, Rewi Mclay, Morgan Allen, Laszlo Reynolds, and Johnny Payne.



  1. Hell Hole
  2. Island Time
  3. Sorry Not Sorry
  4. Nuclear Bombs
  5. Baby Blue
  6. Burning Heaven
  7. Gone Fishing
  8. Chuck It In The Trash
  9. Venus Is Home