Red Dirt Girl (Reissue)

Warner Music

Only 1 left!
or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $10.66 Laybuy What's this?

Ships next business day.


*Limited Edition translucent red vinyl*

Emmylou Harris made her Nonesuch Records debut with the release of her album Red Dirt Girl 20 years ago, in September 2000. To mark its twentieth anniversary, Nonesuch releases the album – which won the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album – on limited-edition, translucent red vinyl.

Harris – whom the Los Angeles Times dubbed ‘the most captivating female artist ever in country music’ – wrote all but one of the twelve tracks on Red Dirt Girl, marking only the second time in her career that she had been so involved in the composition of an album. ‘In songs about lonely journeys and lost companions,’ said the New York Times, ‘Ms. Harris has found herself.’

Red Dirt Girl was produced by Malcolm Burn, who had worked with Harris engineering and mixing her previous solo studio recording, 1995's Wrecking Ball, and features Burn on piano, guitar, and bass; Buddy Miller on lead guitar; Daryl Johnson on bass and drums; and Ethan Johns on drums, guitar, and other miscellaneous instruments. Dave Matthews sings a duet with Harris on the album, and Bruce Springsteen, Patti Scialfa, and Patty Griffin also contribute vocals.


A1. The Pearl
A2. Michelangelo
A3. I Don't Wanna Talk About It Now 
B1. Tragedy
B2. Red Dirt Girl
B3. My Baby Needs a Shepherd
C1. Bang the Drum Slowly
C2. J'ai fait tout
C3. One Big Love
D1. Hour of Gold
D2. My Antonia
D3. Boy from Tupelo