Hey Clockface (Pre-order)

Concord Records

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $10.83 Laybuy What's this?

How does your pre-order work?

FREE shipping in NZ, Australian orders over $99, International orders over $199


"Hey Clockface" was recorded in Helsinki, Paris and New York and mixed by Sebastian Krys in Los Angeles. Following the solo  recording of, "No Flag", "Hetty O'Hara Confidential" and "We Are All Cowards Now" at Suomenlinnan Studio, Helsinki by Eetü  Seppälä in February 2020, Costello immediately traveled to Paris for a weekend session at Les Studios Saint Germain. 

Costello tells us, "I sang live on the studio floor, directing from the vocal booth. We cut nine songs in two days. We spoke very little.  Almost everything the musicians played was a spontaneous response to the song I was singing. I'd had a dream of recording in Paris  like this, one day." 

The ensemble, dubbed, "Le Quintette Saint Germain" by Costello, was recruited for these dates by Steve Nieve (who plays grand piano, upright piano, organ, mellotron & melodica) features Mickaél Gasche on trumpet, flugel horn and serpent, Pierre-François  ‘Titi' Dufour on cello and the drums, percussion and high harmonies of Ajuq. Reed player, Renaud-Gabriel Pion brought many tones  and colours to the performances, playing, contrabass clarinet, bass clarinet, Bb clarinet, tenor saxophone, bass flute and cor anglais. 

The Paris sessions were recorded by François Delabrière. The New York sessions were produced by composer, arranger and trumpet  player, Michael Leonhart in collaboration with guitarists, Bill Frisell and Nels Cline and completed, lyrically and vocally by Costello,  "via Electrical Wire." 

"I wanted to write "Helsinki-Paris-???" on the record jacket like this was a perfume or an advertising agency. "London" was a  possibility for the third city but London is forever. We'll be there again. Michael sent this music to me from New York at the perfect  time. It connected to elements in both of the previous sessions and completed the picture." 

Speaking of the emotional and dynamic range of the record, Costello said, "I wanted the record to be vivid, whether the songs  demanded playing that was loud and jagged or intimate and beautiful." 

The assembled album, "Hey Clockface" is "An Elvis Costello & Sebastian Krys Production" following on from their work together on  Elvis Costello and The Imposters Grammy-winning album "Look Now." 

  1. Revolution #49 
  2. No Flag 
  3. They're Not Laughing At Me Now 
  4. Newspaper Pane 
  5. I Do (Zula's Song) 
  6. We Are All Cowards Now 
  7. Hey Clockface / How Can You Face Me? 
  8. The Whirlwind
  9. Hetty O'Hara Confidential 
  10. The Last Confession of Vivian Whip 
  11. What Is It That I Need That I Don't Already Have? 12. Radio Is Everything 
  12. I Can't Say Her Name 
  13. Byline