EBONY LAMB (Signed Red Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP (Red) [Signed Copy]
Having quietly released some of the most stunning singles we've heard this year to date, Ebony Lamb has this week announced her debut solo album, a self-titled collection of ten new songs on Nadia Reid's own label Slow Time Records. Recorded on beautiful vintage studio gear and mastered to tape in all its imperfect aural glory, the record was produced by Bic Runga and Kody Nielson, each bringing their unique understanding of sound and song to the table. It's no exaggeration to say this is set to be one of our favourite albums of the year, with new single Salt Sand Sea sealing the deal - this is pure magic. This has the style, the substance and - most importantly - the songs to take Ebony Lamb to hallowed new heights. - Flying Out

Pōneke/Wellington-based singer-songwriter Ebony Lamb announces her debut self-titled solo album, set to release on Slow Time Records (Nadia Reid). The album was made in collaboration with two of New Zealand’s most celebrated modern musicians, Bic Runga and Kody Nielson (Opossom, Silicon, UMO), along with her long-time musical collaborator, Gram Antler. 

A captivating work of impressionistic memories, observations and intimate confessions, Ebony wrote her debut album while coming into prominence as an in-demand portrait photographer within New Zealand’s contemporary literature and independent music scenes. The release comes five years after her alt-country band, Eb & Sparrow, amicably parted ways in 2018.

Recorded on vintage analog studio gear and mastered to tape, EBONY LAMB finds Runga and Nielson placing Ebony’s distinct, fragile-but-firm voice within a cinematic confluence of jazz, folk, psychedelia, alt-country and ambient pop. Written over the last five years while coming to terms with the realities of a changing world, themes of gratitude, loss, acceptance and aspiration run through the album like a river, especially in the nocturnal groove of ‘My Daughter My Sister My Son’ and ‘Brother Get Me Home’. From the album’s opening notes, Ebony expresses herself in non-judgmental terms, singing with a raw tenderness that draws listeners into her reflections on friendship (‘Drive Me Around’), the complexity and contradictions of success (‘Successful Feelings’), and connections in seemingly hopeless moments (‘Come, Put A Record On’). Yet while her songs can feel like she’s sitting just across from you, Runga and Nielson’s production imbues them with an expansive sensibility. Spare, vivid and moving, EBONY LAMB is an album that captures a defining artistic leap from a talented artist coming into her own. Singing to herself and the listener, she implores us to continue reaching forward without losing sight of what we have and the elements of our lives that truly matter.


  1. My Daughter My Sister My Son
  2. Take My Hands At Night
  3. Salt Sand Sea
  4. Midnight Is My Name
  5. Swim To Me
  6. Drive Me Around
  7. Successful Feelings
  8. Come, Put A Record On
  9. Brother Get Me Home
  10. Star Confessor