Duke Ellington & John Coltrane (Reissue)

Wax Time


This item is currently unavailable.

Two big names on the cover of an LP were already in 1962 a sales-promoting idea and so the pianist Duke Ellington was joined by the John Coltrane Quartet. Most of the songs were played by Ellington and in fact this marketing idea led to a remarkable album in which two jazz greats treat the material in a very respectful way.

Especially the title song In a Sentimental Mood won through the collaboration of Ellington and Coltrane, but also Take the Coltrane and Big Nick developed their own charm. Duke Ellington on piano, John Coltrane on tenor and sproano saxophone, Jimmy Garrison on bass and Elvin Jones on drums are part of the Coltrane Quartet. On some songs, however, the Ellington partners Aaron Bell on bass and Sam Woodyard on drums also played.


  1. On a Sentimental Mood
  2.  Take the Coltrane
  3. Big Nick
  4. Stevie
  5.  My Little Brown Book
  6. Angelica
  7.  The Feeling of Jazz
  8.  I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good