Dorothy's Harp (2017 Reissue)

Vinyl LP

IMPORTED TITLE. This product is sourced from overseas.
Usually ships within 2-3 weeks.



F|O Points on this item

STAFF PICK "We'll never get sick of this album, melding hip-jazz with the glorious harp playing of Dorothy Ashby, with grooves for days!" 

Dorothy Ashby was an American jazz harpist, one of the very few who used her instrument to play credible jazz and bebop. First studying as a pianist at Wayne State University and later, in 1952, switching to harp. She recorded 11 albums for different jazz labels, like Savoy and Prestige. Dorothy also guested as a studio player on albums with Bill Withers, Stevie Wonder and many more. In 1969 the studio album Dorothy's Harp was released on Cadet Records. On the album, she covered songs from Jimmy Webb (By The Time I Get To Phoenix), Burt Bacharach & Hal David (This Girl's In Love With You), John Lennon & Paul McCartney (Fool On The Hill), and others. The record also includes the two Brazilian styled compositions Reza and Canto de Ossanha and two songs written by Dorothy Ashby herself, displaying her craft on the harp with some great bongo work. Highly in-demand, finally this rare harp jazz album is available again!


1. By The Time I Get To Phoenix
2. Canto de Ossanha
3. Love Is Blue
4. Reza
5. The Girl's in Love with You
6. Truth Spoken Here
7. Toronado
8. The Windmills of Your Mind
9. Cause I Need It
10. Just Had to Tell Somebody
11. Fool on the Hill

Please note that Dorothy's Harp (2017 Reissue) is currently not in store but is an imported title from an overseas supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-3 weeks for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.