Private Press

Island Records


This item is currently unavailable.

After basically completing sampledelia with 1996 debut album ‘Endtroducing…’ DJ Shadow took his sweet time over the follow-up - ‘The Private Press’, his sophomore LP, arrived a full six years later. On this record the plunderphonics came out to play once more, but Shadow also introduced an air of dystopian menace that has only grown stronger in his subsequent releases. The genesis of Oneohtrix Point Never, Flying Lotus and Iglooghost can all be heard if you listen closely.


  1. Letter From Home
  2. Fixed Income
  3. Un Autre Introduction
  4. Walkie Talkie
  5. Giving Up The Ghost
  6. Six Days
  7. Mongrel...
  8. ...Meets His Maker
  9. Right Thing / GDMFSOB
  10. Monosylabik Parts 1 & 2
  11. Mashin' On The Motorway
  12. Blood On The Motorway
  13. You Can't Go Home Again
  14. Letter From Home
  15. Giving Up The Ghost