The Getty Address


The Getty Address is an album-length narrative inspired by Aztec mythology, the Eagles, and the 9/11 aftermath. It is a sprawling, layered glitch opera about Don Henley, leader of the aforementioned country/soft-rock group, and it was recorded over the course of almost two years, in three different states, with more than twenty-five people. Dave Longstreth, the principal Dirty Projector, wrote and recorded arrangements for wind septet, women’s choir, and cello octet, digitally deconstructed them, and then sang over the reconstituted parts in order to make these songs. Many of he album's often-gibberish lyrics stem from Longstreth’s first album, "The Graceful Fallen Mango", and the Eagles’ "Greatest Hits Volume I.

1 I Sit On The Ridge At Dusk 4:55
2 But In The Headlights 1:50
3 Warholian Wigs 4:31
4 I Will Truck 5:17
5 D. Henley's Dream 4:14
6 Gilt Gold Scabs 5:26
7 Ponds & Puddles 3:49
8 Not Having Found 4:42
9 Tour Along The Potomac 4:12
10 Jolly Jolly Jolly Ego 5:33
11 Time Birthed Spilled Blood 3:02
12 Drilling Profitably 4:29
13 Finches' Song At Oceanic Parking Lot 4:08