Is the Is Are (CD)


IMPORTED TITLE. This product is sourced from overseas.
Usually ships within 4-5 weeks.



F|O Points on this item

Is the Is Are, the highly-anticipated sophomore release from Brooklyn-based DIIV, is an album years and many personal struggles in the making for it's architect, Zachary Cole Smith. Recorded and mixed in various locations in Brooklyn, it showcases everything you know and love about DIIV, and many things you did not, all with an added nuance and depth. It is a 17-song, double-album statement intended to resonate with its audience in much the same way that Bad Moon Rising or Tago Mago has for Smith himself.

An extension and deepening of the musical ideas first expressed on 2012's critically-lauded OshinIs the Is Are yields a multiplicity of textures, lyrical themes, and moods. It is a more diverse world than Oshin, with different parameters and ideals. Dark and honest to a fault, the new songs are dynamic, loud, quiet, sad; they are songs that hiss and snarl; songs that, as Smith wrote recently, represent "the real me." Smith's vocals, too, are much closer to the foreground, layered legibly on top of tidal waves of shimmering guitar and melodic bass weaving in and out, leaving a distinct and indelible imprint.


  1. Out of Mind 
  2. Under the Sun 
  3. Bent (Roi's Song) 
  4. Dopamine 
  5. Blue Boredom (Sky's Song) 
  6. Valentine 
  7. Yr Not Far
  8. Take Your Time 
  9. Is the Is Are 
  10. Mire (Grant's Song) 
  11. Incarnate Devil
  12. (Fuck) 
  13. Healthy Moon
  14. Loose Ends 
  15. (Napa) 
  16. Dust
  17. Waste of Breath

Please note that Is the Is Are (CD) is currently not in store but is an imported title from an overseas supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-3 weeks for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.