Scary Monsters (Reissue)

Vinyl LP

Fresh off his Berlin trilogy (Low, Heroes, Lodger), David Bowie released Scary Monsters, an album that continued the cool, detached, electronic-flavoured sound he'd been experimenting with on the aforementioned records. Robert Fripp's distinctively angular guitar style contributes greatly to the resulting Kraftwerk-flavoured funk of Fashion and the jittery paranoia of the title track. Elsewhere, Bowie updates the saga of major tom with Ashes to Ashes and turns to Tom Verlaine for the new wave nihilism of Kingdom Come which also features Fripp on guitar. Robert Fripp was far from the only great guest invited to play on Scary Monsters. Pete Townshend's swirling guitar on Because You're Young made it an underrated classic in Bowie's canon. Scary Monsters proved to be David Bowie's last musical effort for a while as he spent the next three years pursuing a career in acting before returning to the studio in 1983 to record Let's Dance.

Track Listing

  1. It's No Game (Part 1) [2017 Remastered Version]
  2. Up the Hill Backwards (2017 Remastered Version)
  3. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) [2017 Remastered Version]
  4. Ashes to Ashes (2017 Remastered Version)
  5. Fashion (2017 Remastered Version)
  6. Teenage Wildlife (2017 Remastered Version)
  7. Scream Like a Baby (2017 Remastered Version)
  8. Kingdom Come (2017 Remastered Version)
  9. Because You're Young (2017 Remastered Version)
  10. It's No Game (Part 2) [2017 Remastered Version]