Daffodils & Dirt (Vinyl LP, Yellow)

Vinyl LP (Daffodil Yellow)

AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

Actor and director Samantha Morton (Morvern Callar, River Queen) has made a career of portraying unsettling but strong characters in her somewhat unique career. Now, Morton has teamed up with producer and XL Recordings founder Richard Russell for a debut album that is set to surprise us all with a dozen powerful and highly personal songs. Featuring a host of remarkable guests including Alabaster DePlume, Laura Groves, Jack Peñate and UB40's Ali Campbell, sink yourself into the ethereal and haunting new sound of Sam Morton. Prepare to be unsettled, in the best possible way. - Flying Out 

Sam Morton the musical duo comprised of singer, songwriter and acclaimed actor and director Samantha Morton and music producer and co-songwriter Richard Russell, announce details of their highly-anticipated debut album. Titled Daffodils & Dirt, the album will be released on 14th June via XL Recordings. Over twelve startling tracks, the pair build a deeply personal musical world that feels simultaneously intimate and delicate yet powerful and tough. The part-autobiographical suite of songs see Russell’s spartan soundscapes providing a rich foundation for Morton’s gorgeous, ethereal vocal, aided by a cast of musical collaborators that include Alabaster DePlume, Laura Groves, Jack Peñate and additional vocalist Ali Campbell (on Broxtowe Girl).

Despite a lifelong love of, and involvement in, music, Sam Morton is Samantha Morton’s first ever artist project. The collaboration came about after she appeared on Desert Island Discs in October 2020 and Russell happened to be listening. He was struck not only by her song choices (including a shared love of one song in particular: I Remember by Molly Drake) but by the way the music weaved through her lived experiences. The pair connected and corresponded, swapping ideas, sketches and stream-of-consciousnesses. Finally, months later, they met in the studio and engaged in a period of spontaneous, intense and open-ended collaboration, one which proved to be a cathartic musical process for both parties. Daffodils & Dirt, completed during 2023, is the captivating result.

The album cover artwork features an archive photograph from acclaimed British-American photographer and visual artist Nick Waplington, who documented life on Nottingham’s Broxtowe Estate at the same time Morton was growing up there in the mid-1980s.


1. Highwood House
2. Hungerhill Road
3. Purple Yellow
4. The Little White Cloud That Cried
5. Kaleidoscope
6. Cry Without End
7. Broxtowe Girl
8. Let's Walk In The Night
9. Greenstone
10. Double Dip Neon
11. The Shadow
12. Loved By God

Please note that Daffodils & Dirt (Vinyl LP, Yellow) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.