Lay it Down (Reissue) (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP

IMPORTED TITLE. This product is sourced from overseas.
Usually ships within 4-5 weeks.



F|O Points on this item

Every Cowboy Junkies album is a sonic treat, full of gorgeous guitar tones from Michael Timmons, haunting vocals from Margo Timmins, and beautiful arrangements, and 1996’s Lay it Down is no exception. But there is one big difference between this album and its predecessors: it rocks! And pretty hard, too, particularly on the Crazy Horse-esque Canadian hit A Common Disaster, Just Want to See, and the Paisley Underground-style title track. The pared-down quartet line-up accounts for some of this tougher approach; but producer John Keane definitely shaped this album’s sound, lending these songs a palpable Athens, GA/R.E.M. vibe that transports the Junkies out of their customary Americana/alt-country territory into a more indie-rock feel. Lay It Down is a mature album, tackling complex themes (Come Calling [His Song] and Come Calling [Her Song] tackle the onset of Alzheimer’s from the perspective of an afflicted elderly couple) with the confidence of a band at the peak of its powers. It’s long-overdue for a release on LP, and Real Gone Music are proud to present it on pristine black vinyl inside a jacket and printed inner sleeve with lyrics. A great listen.


1. Something More Besides You
2. A Common Disaster
3. Lay It Down
4. Hold On to Me
5. Come Calling (His Song)
6. Just Want to See
7. Lonely Sinking Feeling
8. Angel Mine
9. Bea's Song (River Song Trilogy: Part II)
10. Musical Key
11. Speaking Confidentially
12. Come Calling (Her Song)
13. Now I Know

Please note that Lay it Down (Reissue) (Vinyl LP) is currently not in store but is an imported title from an overseas supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-3 weeks for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.