The Whitey Album

Vinyl LP


Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

Sonic Youth's seventh album sort of originated with a long-running band joke involving SY's claim to one day cover the Beatles' White Album in its entirety -- somehow this project morphed into a twisted beatbox/sampler experiment masquerading as a tribute to Madonna... SY even took Madonna's surname for their own, calling themselves "Ciccone Youth". The first Ciccone Youth single, featuring SY's version of "Into The Groovey" and Mike Watt's cover of "Burnin' Up" was initially released in 1986. Ciccone Youth unveiled themselves again on the "Master-Dik" EP, and decided to round out an entire album in late '87/early '88.


  1. Needle-Gun 
  2. (Silence) 
  3. G-Force
  4. Platoon II 
  5. MacBeth
  6. Me & Jill 
  7. Burnin' Up (4-track cassette demo)
  8. Hi Everybody 
  9. Children Of Satan
  10. Two Cool Rock Chicks Listening to Neu
  11. Addicted to Love 
  12. Moby-Dik
  13. March Of The Ciccone Robots 
  14. Making The Nature Scene
  15. Tuff Titty Rap 
  16. Into The Groove(y) 
  17. MacBeth (Alternative Version)