Faces From The Masquerade (Vinyl 2LP)

Vinyl 2LP

AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

Last year, as the live music touring machine began to gradually shake off the restrictions necessitated by the pandemonium of the pandemic, cult favourite US indie band Car Seat Headrest settled in for a three-night residency at New York's iconic Brooklyn Steel venue. Now, just announced, comes the epic live double album Faces From The Masquerade, hand-picking the finest moments from across the trio of shows. From the seldom-played 8-minute opener Crows, to anthems like Beach Life-In-Death and Fill In The Blanks, to "climactic dance monster" closer Deadlines, the tracklist was built with the fans in mind, and on this sprawling live album, fans can feel like they were front-and-centre at a glorious moment in time. - Flying Out

"The 2022 Masquerade was a crazy tour that ignited with a particular ferocity once we touched ground on the east coast. Our time in New York captures that momentary magic where we’re playing at our peak and the crowd is responding as one giant body."

- Will Toledo, Car Seat Headrest

On March 28th-30th 2022, Car Seat Headrest played three consecutive sold out nights at Brooklyn Steel in New York. An air of celebration, community and showmanship was present, made all the more palpable as the shows were far from a certainty - they took place amidst a year which saw the band having to postpone or cancel a large swath of their North American tour dates due to ongoing health issues.

The three night residency is captured on Faces From The Masquerade - a double album’s worth of live performances that finds Car Seat Headrest at their most playful, exuberant and precision honed. The title alludes to the by now familiar, custom-made gas mask worn by frontman Will Toledo at shows, complete with an expressive LED display for eyes. In addition to the group’s four core members - Toledo, guitarist/backing vocalist Ethan Ives, bassist Seth Dalby and drummer Andrew Katz - they were joined on the tour by keyboard player Ben Roth.

From the slow burning and atmospheric Crows (“It always felt like the right track to start off the Masquerade tour,” Toledo notes in the album liner notes on the 8-minute opener, “it was gloomy, it was dancey, and in ten years we’d never played it live”) to the mosh-pitting and anthemic Fill In The Blanks (“We went back to a big, fat rendition similar to the original for this tour, not the funky version we’d been rolling on the Twin Fantasy tour”) to the sprawling and epic Beach Life-In-Death ("We re-arranged this one to have a bit more restraint up until the breaking point on -dooooooggssss? You wanna keep things dynamic with a 13+ minute song”), to the revisionist Deadlines (“After experiencing various mutations throughout the recording process of Making a Door Less Open, this song got ANOTHER revamp for the live show to turn it into the climactic dance monster it always wanted to be”), Faces From The Masquerade is simultaneously a joyride through the greatest hits and a conversation with the devoted and ever-growing following that has formed around the band, their songs and live communions.

Bartees Strange joins the proceedings for an interpolation of Can’t Cool Me Down and Vincent along with his drummer Jordyn, and they “turn it from a spaced-out jam into a big party,“ as Toledo notes. “We had a stomp box on stage that would mute the mic in case I needed to cough, sneeze or wheeze. I never used it (let the world hear my wheezing), but this particular night someone managed to stomp on it during Bartebes’s solo, so you can hear me giving up on the would-be Vincent chorus when I realize no one can hear me.”

Elsewhere, Ethan Ives takes the lead on the fevered It’s My Child (I’ll Do What I Like), a track originating from his side project Toy Bastard before joining the CSH fold. “As far as simply getting to ball out as a band, It’s My Child always felt like the highlight of the whole show to me”, says Toldeo.

Twin Fantasy favourite Sober To Death became something of a focal point as well as a mini-TikTok trend throughout the tour, with the song receiving reverential singalongs (as well as a notable streaming bump) night after night wherever it was played. “Another track not originally slated to be a part of this tour - it came up often enough in the polls that it soon got locked in. I think this hushed version gave everyone a welcome chance to breathe, especially this night in New York, where people were getting so wild it felt necessary to dial things down for a few minutes.“


1. Crows
2. Weightlifters
3. Fill in the Blank
4. Hymn
5. Hollywood
6. Bodys
7. Something Soon
8. 1937 State Park
9. Sober to Death
10. Drunk Drivers/Killer Whales
11. It’s My Child (I’ll Do What I Like)
12. Can’t Cool Me Down
13. Beach Life-In-Death
14. Deadlines

Please note that Faces From The Masquerade (Vinyl 2LP) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.