The Black Light


or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $8.00 Laybuy What's this?

This product is sourced from overseas, additional delays will occur.

FREE shipping in NZ, Australian orders over $99, International orders over $199

 What was surprising about The Black Light (and what set its architects apart from their indie rock peers) was the album’s unusual willingness to wade into the rapids of American and Mexican culture, fully immersing itself midstream. From the outset, with Gypsy’s Curse, the record combines guitar twang and flamenco flourishes; and by its end, almost an hour later, it’s contrived a skillful and instinctive union of smoky bar room jazz, arthouse indie rock, and compelling mariachi brass in Frontera. If Calexico falls short as a name, it’s only in the fact that - alongside their mining of Mexico’s fertile musical past - Joey Burns and John Convertino weren’t just digging into California’s songbook. 


1 Gypsy's Curse
2 Fake Fur
3 The Ride (Pt II) 
4 Where Water Flows 
5 The Black Light 
6 Sideshow
7 Chach
8 Missing 
9 Minas De Cobre (For Better Metal) 
10 Over Your Shoulder 
11 Vinegaroon 
12 Trigger 
13 Sprawl 
14 Stray
15 Old Man Waltz 
16 Bloodflow 
17 Frontera