The Magic Whip (Vinyl 2LP)

Vinyl 2LP

AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

Conceived, written, and recorded across two years, the surprise (and surprisingly lovely) Blur reunion record saw the band stranded in Tokyo, going their separate ways around the world, before putting the finishing touches on things in Hong Kong. It was a welcome return for the band, and it's brilliant to have it reissued on double vinyl today as a reminder of its excellence, and to tide us over until The Ballad of Darren arrives next month! - Flying Out

The Magic Whip is the 8th studio album from the group Blur, made up of Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon, Alex James, and Dave Rowntree. The group are assisted by Mike Smith on horns and Demon Strings for orchestration.

When the group was stranded in Tokyo in May 2013 after a canceled music festival, they worked on new material in order to distract themselves during the downtime. The album was not produced right away. In November 2014, Graham Coxon got permission from Damon Albarn to work on the music with producer Stephen Street. After his tour in Australia in December 2014, Albarn returned to Hong Kong for lyrical inspiration for the previously recorded music. By the end of January 2015, the vocals were completed and the mastering for the album was finished in February.

The cover for the album was inspired by the time they spent in Tokyo when the music was created. The words on the cover literally mean Blur Magic-whip.


A1. Lonesome Street
A2. New World Towers
A3. Go Out
B1. Ice Cream Man
B2. Thought I Was A Spaceman
B3. I Broadcast
C1. My Terracotta Heart
C2. There Are Too Many of Us
C3. Ghost Ship 
D1. Pyongyang
D2. Ong Ong
D3. Mirrorball

Please note that The Magic Whip (Vinyl 2LP) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.