Blouse was born in a warehouse in Portland, OR. The project started in the summer of 2010, after Los Angeles native Charlie Hilton (guitarist / vocalist / keys) met Patrick Adams (bass) in, of course, art school. Soon after, they began spending nights in the aforementioned warehouse recording with Jacob Portrait –- now well-known not only as the drummer of Blouse, but also as a live member of Unknown Mortal Orchestra and a producer who has collaborated with UMO, Wild Nothing, EMA, Strfkr, Sunflower Bean and more - and, after posting two demos to Bandcamp, the trio was picked up by Captured Tracks with their first 7” single, Into Black, following quickly.

Their self-titled debut shows a self-assured Blouse unveiling a sound all their own: textural swaths of guitar and wavy keys coupled with Hilton’s powerfully alluring voice, her words guiding each song as it unfolds, as if a dream.


  1. Firestarter 
  2. Time Travel
  3. They Always Fly Away 
  4. Into Black 
  5. Videotapes 
  6. Controller 
  7. Roses 
  8. White 
  9. Ghost Dream 
  10. Fountain In Rewind