The Vinyl Collection, Vol. 1

Columbia Records


This item is currently unavailable.

In 2021, multi-platinum singer/songwriter, and music icon, Billy Joel marks 50 years since his debut studio album Cold Spring Harbor. With countless hits and influence that spans the globe, Legacy will be highlighting Billy Joel’s catalogue for the remainder of the year, with a focus on his early career.

One aspect of the campaign is The Vinyl Collection, Vol. 1, an 8 album (9-LP) boxset that includes Joel’s albums from the 1970s (Cold Spring Harbor, Piano Man, Streetlife Serenade, Turnstiles, The Stranger, 52nd Street) along with Songs in the Attic, a live album released in 1981. Also included is a previously unreleased live album, Live at The Great American Music Hall, which will only be available in the boxset. 

The boxset includes a 50+ page booklet that highlights Joel’s early career through photos, quotes, and an essay. 

This project is a wonderful reminder of Joel’s discography to fans both old and new. 

8 x Album (9LP) boxset featuring a 50+ page booklet highlighting Billy’s life and career.


Cold Spring Harbor
Piano Man
Streetlife Serenade
The Stranger 
52nd Street
Songs in the Attic
Live at The Great American Music Hall (Previously Unreleased, will NOT be released digitally)

Cold Spring Harbor

Side A
1. She’s Got A Way
2. You Can Make Me Free
3. Everybody Loves You Now
4. Why Judy Why
5. Falling Of The Rain

Side B
1. Turn Around
2. You Look So Good To Me
3. Tomorrow Is Today
4. Nocturne
5. Got To Begin Again

Piano Man

Side A
1. Travelin’ Prayer
2. Piano Man
3. Ain’t No Crime
4. You’re My Home
5. The Ballad Of Billy The Kid

Side B
1. Worse Comes To Worst
2. Stop In Nevada
3. If I Only Had The Words (To Tell You)
4. Somewhere Along The Line
5. Captain Jack

Streetlife Serenade

Side A
1. Streetlife Serenader
2. Los Angelenos
3. The Great Suburban Showdown
4. Root Beer Rag
5. Roberta

Side B
1. The Entertainer
2. Last Of The Big Time Spenders
3. Weekend Song
4. Souvenir
5. The Mexican Connection


Side A
1. Say Goodbye To Hollywood
2. Summer, Highland Falls
3. All You Wanna Do Is Dance
4. New York State Of Mind

Side B
1. James
2. Prelude / Angry Young Man
3. I’ve Loved These Days
4. Miami 2017 (Seen The Lights Go Out on Broadway)

The Stranger

Side A
1. Movin’ Out (Anthony’s Song)
2. The Stranger
3. Just The Way You Are
4. Scenes From An Italian Restaurant

Side B
1. Vienna
2. Only The Good Die Young
3. She’s Always A Woman
4. Get It Right The First Time
5. Everybody Has A Dream

52nd Street

Side A
1. Big Shot
2. Honesty
3. My Life
4. Zanzibar

Side B
1. Stiletto
2. Rosalinda’s Eyes
3. Half A Mile Away
4. Until The Night
5. 52nd Street

Songs In The Attic

Side A
1. Miami 2017 (Seen The Lights Go Out On Broadway) - Recorded June 1980, Madison Square Garden, New York, NY 
2. Summer, Highland Falls - Recorded July 1980, Bijou, Washington, D.C. 
3. Streetlife Serenade - Recorded July 1980, St. Paul Civic Center, St. Paul, MN 
4. Los Angelenos - Recorded July 1980, Toad's Place, New Haven, CT 
5. She's Got A Way - Recorded June 1980, Paradise Club, Boston, MA 
6. Everybody Loves You Now - Recorded July 1980, Bijou, Washington, D.C. 

Side B
1. Say Goodbye To Hollywood - Recorded June 1980, Milwaukee Arena, Milwaukee, WI 
2. Captain Jack - Recorded July 1980, Spectrum, Philadelphia, PA 
3. You're My Home - Recorded July 1980, Bijou, Washington, D.C. 
4. The Ballad Of Billy The Kid - Recorded June 1980, Madison Square Garden, New York, NY
5. I've Loved These Days - Recorded July 1980, Horizon, Chicago, IL

Live At The Great American Music Hall – 1975

Side A
1. Introduction 
2. Somewhere Along The Line 
3. Roberta 
4. The Mexican Connection 
5. Root Beer Rag 

Side B
1. James 
2. Band Introductions 
3. You’re My Home 
4. You Are So Beautiful - Interlude 
5. Everybody Loves You Now 

Side C
1. New York State of Mind 
2. Benny and The Jets - Interlude 
3. Travelin’ Prayer 
4. Delta Lady - Interlude 

Side D
1. The Entertainer 
2. The Ballad of Billy The Kid 
3. Ain’t No Crime 
4. Weekend Song