A Bit Of Previous

Matador Records

Only 1 left!
or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $10.00 Laybuy What's this?

Ships next business day.


STAFF PICK "Sometimes I get made fun of for my relentless, two-decade dedication to this Scottish pop outfit, but persecution is just part of any great faith, and I don't care - I love them always" Matthew Crawley

Note: Per the images attached, each format of this release has different artwork 

A Bit of Previous is the tenth studio album by Belle and Sebastian and their first full-length in seven years. This may be surprising to anyone following the recent life pursuits of the Glasgow 7-piece: a trilogy of EP’s; a soundtrack for the directorial debut of The InbetweenersSimon Bird; The Boaty Weekender – a 3000 capacity star-studded four-day music festival on a cruise liner sailing the Mediterranean; a live album showcasing the band’s present-day iteration as savvy main stage entertainers; and in 2020 a collaborative project with fans called ‘Protecting The Hive’.  A Bit Of Previous is a classic Belle and Sebastian album preoccupied with songs and melodies that won’t leave your head and lyrics that can make you smile and ponder and sometimes be melancholic. It’s an album self-produced and recorded by Belle and Sebastian (with contributions from Brian McNeilMatt Wiggins, Kevin Burleigh and Shawn Everett) and their most hands-on since The Boy With The Arab Strap.  A Bit of Previous is Belle and Sebastian taking on age and getting older and emerging all the more vital for it.


1.     Young & Stupid
2.     If They’re Shooting At You
3.     Talk To Me, Talk To Me
4.     Reclaim The Night
5.     Do It For Your Country
6.     Prophets On Hold
7.     Unnecessary Drama
8.     Come On Home
9.     A World Without You
10.  The Deathbed Of My Dreams
11.  Sea Of Sorrow
12.  Working Boy In New York City

7" Bonus Tracks

1. A Bit Of Previous
2. Sometimes