The Twits (CD)


AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

London-based trio Bar Italia continue their unpredictable trajectory by announcing their second full-length album in only six months. Recorded earlier this year in a Mallorca home studio, rumour has it the tunes packed into new record The Twits swing wildly between "festival tent psychedelia" and "wistful, buzzing country blues". Released yet again on the always reliable Matador Records, dive into new single my little tony and find out why Bar Italia are being hailed by the press you respect as a band that's turning heads with their every move. - Flying Out

The Twits’ was recorded by the trio over eight weeks from February 2023 in a makeshift home studio in Mallorca, and was mixed by Marta Salogni. It finds bar italia’s economical yet evocative songcraft taking raucous, mystic, unkempt, occasionally sinister, and wholly committed turns. Songs like “my little tony”, with its in-the-red riff and excitable hooks, the cathartic four-on-the-floor of ‘world’s greatest emoter’ and the festival tent psychedelia of “Hi-fiver” need little in the way of exposition – these are exhilarating rock songs, if wayward and strange.

Other moments see the band’s increasingly signature, three-act mini-dramas moving into previously uncharted territory. Cristante, Fehmi and Fenton can each manifest a different melody, mood, and cadence – at times overlapping and linear, at others unexpectedly divergent – often within the space of thirty seconds, a tag team rooted in shared language and kinship. “Jelsy”, for instance, plays out like a conversation between friends over wistful, buzzing country blues, the alternating voices at points comforting, wry and hopelessly yearning. The sinuous, slow-burning waltz of “twist” stands out in its bare lyricism and seems to invite each band member’s individual take on a confessional.

  1. My Little Tony
  2. Real House Wibes (Desperate House Vibes)
  3. Twist
  4. Worlds Greatest Emoter
  5. Calm Down With Me
  6. Shoo
  7. Que Suprise
  8. Hi Fiver
  9. Brush W Faith
  10. Glory Hunter
  11. Sounds Like You Had to Be There
  12. Jelsy
  13. Bibs

Please note that The Twits (CD) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.