On (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP
Altın Gün offer an exciting mix of Turkish folk, psychedelia, funk and rock. After performing in Istanbul with Jacco Gardner, bassist Jasper Verhulst became fascinated by the Turkish sound of the 70s. At that time, artists like Selda, Barış Manço and Erkin Koray combined traditional music with western
rock influences.

Along with bandmates Ben Rider (guitar) and Nic Mauskovic (drums), Verhulst searched for Turkish musicians to revive this sound. They found Merve Dasdemir (vocals) and Erdinc Yildiz Ecevit (vocals, saz, keys) through Facebook. Jungle by Nigaht’s energetic percussionist Gino Groeneveld joined the group and the band was complete. Altın Gün play songs from the aforementioned artists from the 70’s and their lesser-known contemporaries and also make their own arrangements of Turkish traditionals. This way different worlds meet and form a refreshing danceable sound.


1. Tatli Dile Güler Yüze
2. Kırşehir'in Gülleri.
3. Goca Dünya
4. Halkali Şeker
5. Caney
6. Şad Olup Gülmedim
7. Cemalim
8. Çiçekler Ekiliyor
9. Kaymakamin Kizlari
10. Şeker Oğlan