An Awesome Wave

Infectious Music

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $8.00 Laybuy What's this?

This product is sourced from overseas, additional delays will occur.


Named after the Mac command also used as a mathematical equation to show change, formed while studying fine art at university, and prone to throwing in the odd geometric reference within their lyrics, there are signs that Cambridge-based quartet Alt-J might be a little bit too clever for their own good. Produced by Charlie Andrew (the Laurel Collective), their debut album, An Awesome Wave, is occasionally guilty of pretentiousness, particularly the irritating a cappella vocal warmup of the interlude "(The Ripe & Ruin)." But for the most part, its 13 tracks do for nu-folk what Everything Everything's equally ambitious debut did for indie rock, breathing new life into the genre with an intriguing but accessible series of art rock twists and turns. 


1 Intro
2 Interlude 1
3 Tessellate
4 Breezeblocks
5 Interlude 2
6 Something Good
7 Dissolve Me
8 Matilda
9 Ms
10 Fitzpleasure
11 Interlude 3
12 Bloodflood
13 Taro


1. Intro
2. Interlude1
3. Tesselate
4. Violin Kirsty Mangan
5. Breezeblocks
6. Interlude 2
7. Something Good
8. Dissolve Me
9. Matilda
10. Ms
11. Fitzpleasure
12. Interlude 3
13. Bloodflood
14. Vocals [Additional] St Ronan's Chamber Choir
15. Taro