Becoming Undone

Dais Records

Only 1 left!
or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $8.33 Laybuy What's this?

Ships next business day.


After a quarter century of nearly nonstop activity, dystopian Detroit synth-punk  institution ADULT. have perfected a strain of stylistic cohesion in the album format, “but for this we wanted something that’s falling apart.” Becoming Undone, the 9th official full-length by co-founders Nicola Kuperus and Adam Lee Miller, explicitly succeeds in this aim, simultaneously rejecting and reflecting the planetary discord that inspired it. Begun in the latter half of 2020 against a backdrop of unprecedented flux and seismic isolation, the duo kickstarted their muse by sourcing fresh additions to the rig: a vocal loop pedal for Kuperus and Roland percussion pads for Miller. Reconnecting with legacy influences like the politicized industrial percussion of Test Department and the queasy miscreant synthetics of TG’s 20 Jazz Funk Greats sparked a series of fruitfully frenetic sessions, centered on themes of impermanence and dissonance. Miller’s rationale is blunt: “We weren’t interested in melody or harmony since we didn’t see the world having that.”From the tense technoid blitz of Undoing / Undone to the twitchy EBM of Fools (We Are…) and I Am Nothing, the sides bristle with strident acidic revolt and black leather sequential circuits, unhinged and unforgiving. Elsewhere, slower tempos of purgatorial unraveling (Normative Sludge, She’s Nice Looking) showcase a breadth of vocal FX, Kuperus sounding alternately indignant and possessed, decrying the crimes, fears, and failings of a deluded world. Throughout, the band’s chemistry crackles with revulsion and strobe-lit dissent, equal parts exorcism and denunciation.


  1. Undoing / Undone
  2. Our Bodies Weren't Wrong
  3. Fools (We Are...)
  4. Normative Sludge
  5. I Am Nothing
  6. She's Nice Looking
  7. I, Obediant
  8. Teeth Out Pt. II