Bad Meditation

Vinyl LP

Mara TK, a golden voiced, Maori-Scottish world-wandering citizen of Aotearoa announces his debut solo album ‘Bad Meditation’, released 7th May on Extra Soul Perception & Years Gone By. Stepping out on his own, Mara TK is the former frontman of the acclaimed Kiwi future soul trio Electric Wire Hustle. Written and produced by Mara himself, ‘Bad Meditation’ is his 13 track opus, a deeply personal account of heritage, love, loss and healing.

On the melancholic lament ‘Highly Medicated’, Mara opens up about his journey to heal following the death of his grandfather, who was his link to traditional customs in Aotearoa. Mara explains “I tried everything to plug up the void: antidepressants, molly, acid, hiking, running, dancing, Ritalin, one-night stands, six-month stands, spending money on jackets, airfares for bad friends, and so on. Eventually I shut everyone out and I was finally alone. I takoto tūpāpaku au. I would put on videos of the old people here talking - interviews with my elders. They said ‘Love yourself, forgive yourself. This is where you start.’ and that’s been the best medication I’ve had so far”. The B-side ‘Toroa / The Albatross’ was written in remembrance of the passive resistance movement of Parihaka - an early refugee camp established by the Māori during the Crown invasion of Taranaki in the 1800s. Watch the video here.

An alumnus of Red Music Academy in Toronto, Mara TK’s work beyond Electric Wire Hustle has seen him collaborate with critically lauded names including Om’Mas Keith of Sa-Ra Creative Partners, Detroit producer and J Dilla collaborator Waajeed, and Steve Spacek.


  1. Highly Medicated
  2. All I Do
  3. Grrrl
  4. Te Kete Aronui
  5. Grew Up Inna Chaos Feat. 2MY
  6. Bad Meditation
  7. Colours
  8. Moon Song
  9. Every Hori Is A Star Feat. Troy Kingi
  10. Met At The River Feat. Xenia Manasseh
  11. Fam Forgiveness
  12. Toroa / The Albatross