Neil Young Archives Vol. 1 (1963 - 1972) (Reissue) (8CD Box Set)

8CD Box Set

AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

Neil Young Archives Vol 1: 1963-1972 is the first in a series of archival box sets encompassing Neil Young’s entire career. Volume 1 was originally released on June 2, 2009, in three formats: A 10-disc deluxe edition in either Blu-ray or DVD and an 8-disc CD box.

Out of print for over a decade, the CD box set is now being re-issued in its original format – housed in the “Garypak”, a unique package designed by Neil’s long-time art director, the late Gary Burden. Each CD has its own custom sleeve.

At the time of release in 2009, 13 of the songs had never been released before. A further 34 tracks were previously unreleased live or alternate versions. The repertoire covers the first decade of Neil Young’s career, including material from the Squires, Buffalo Springfield, Crazy Horse, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and his early solo albums.

The box set comes with a 24-page booklet and a large fold-out Archives poster.


Early Years (1963-1968)
1. Aurora
2. The Sultan
3. I Wonder
4. Mustang
5. I’ll Love You Forever
6. (I’m A Man And) I Can’t Cry
7. Hello Lonely Woman
8. Casting Me Away From You
9. There Goes My Babe 
10. Sugar Mountain
11. Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing 
12. Runaround Babe 
13. The Ballad Of Peggy Grover 
14. The Rent Is Always Due 
15. Extra, Extra
16. Flying On The Ground Is Wrong 
17. Burned 
18. Out Of My Mind
19. Down, Down, Down
20. Kahuna Sunset 
21. Mr. Soul
22. Sell Out
23. Down To The Wire 
24. Expecting To Fly
25. Slowly Burning 
26. One More Sign
27. Broken Arrow 
28. I Am A Child
Topanga 1 (1968-1969)
1. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
2. The Loner
3. Birds
4. What Did You Do To My Life?
5. The Last Trip To Tulsa
6. Here We Are In The Years
7. I’ve Been Waiting For You
8. The Old Laughing Lady
9. I’ve Loved Her So Long 
10. Sugar Mountain 
11. Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing 
12. Down By The River
13. Cowgirl In The Sand 
14. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
Live at the Riverboat (Toronto 1969)
1. Sugar Mountain
2. The Old Laughing Lady
3. Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
4. On The Way Home
5. I’ve Loved Her So Long
6. I Am A Child
7. 1956 Bubblegum Disaster
8. The Last Trip To Tulsa
9. Broken Arrow
10. Whiskey Boot Hill
11. Expecting To Fly
Topanga 2 (1969-1970)
1. Cinnamon Girl
2. Running Dry (Requiem For The Rockets)
3. Round And Round (It Won’t Be Long)
4. Oh Lonesome Me
5. Birds
6. Everybody’s Alone
7. I Believe In You
8. Sea Of Madness
9. Dance Dance Dance
10. Country Girl
11. Helpless
12. It Might Have Been
Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Live at the Fillmore East (New York 1970)
1. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
2. Winterlong
3. Down By The River
4. Wonderin’
5. Come On Baby Let’s Go Downtown
6. Cowgirl In The Sand
Topanga 3 (1970)
1. Tell Me Why
2. After The Gold Rush
3. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
4. Wonderin’
5. Don’t Let It Bring You Down
6. Cripple Creek Ferry
7. Southern Man
8. Till The Morning Comes
9. When You Dance, I Can Really Love 
10. Ohio
11. Only Love Can Break Your Heart 
12. Tell Me Why 
13. Music Is Love 
14. See The Sky About To Rain
Live at Massey Hall (Toronto 1971)
1. On The Way Home
2. Tell Me Why
3. Old Man
4. Journey Through The Past
5. Helpless
6. Love In Mind
7. A Man Needs A Maid/Heart Of Gold (Suite)
8. Cowgirl In The Sand
9. Don’t Let It Bring You Down
10. There’s A World
11. Bad Fog Of Loneliness 
12. The Needle And The Damage Done 
13. Ohio 
14. See The Sky About To Rain 
15. Down By The River 
16. Dance Dance Dance 
17. I Am A Child
North Country (1971-1972)
1. Heart Of Gold
2. The Needle And The Damage Done
3. Bad Fog Of Loneliness
4. Old Man
5. Heart Of Gold
6. Dance Dance Dance
7. A Man Needs A Maid
8. Harvest
9. Journey Through The Past
10. Are You Ready For The Country? 
11. Alabama
12. Words (Between The Lines Of Age)
13. Soldier 
14. War Song

Please note that Neil Young Archives Vol. 1 (1963 - 1972) (Reissue) (8CD Box Set) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.