Boombox 1

Soul Jazz Records

Only 1 left!
or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $10.33 Laybuy What's this?

Ships next business day. All orders will be shipped under Level 3 in Auckland


Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro and Disco Rap 1979-82

Soul Jazz Records’ new Boombox features some of the many innovative underground first-wave of rap records made in New York in the period 1979-82, all released on small, independent, often family-concern record companies, at a time when hip-hop music still remained under the radar.

This first exuberant wave of innocent, upbeat, party on the block rap records were the first to try and create the sounds heard in community centres, block parties and street jams that first took place in the Bronx in the mid-1970s. But where Flash, Kool Herc and Bambaataa were back-spinning, mixing and scratching together now classic breakbeat records like The Incredible Bongo Band’s Apache or Babe Ruth’s The Mexican, these first rap records were all made using live bands, often replaying then current disco tunes, whilst MCs rapped over the top, creating a unique sound that later became known derisively as old school.


1. Mr Sweety G – At The Place To Be
2. Love Bug Star-Ski and The Harlem World Crew – Positive Life
3. Neil B – Body Rock
4. Super 3 – Philosophy Rappin' Spree
5. Bramsam – Move Your Body
6. Black Bird & Kevski – On The Go
7. Count Coolout – Rhythm Rap Rock 
8. Harlem World Crew – Rappers Convention
9. Willie Wood & The Willie Wood Crew – Willie Rap
10. Bon-Rock & The Rhythm Rebellion – Searching Rap
11. Sugar Daddy – One More Time
12. Spoonie Gee and The Treacherous Three – The New Rap Language
13. TJ Swan – And You Know That
14. Portable Patrol – Cop Bop
15. Master Jay – We Are People Too
16. Sweet G – Boogie Feelin' Rap
17. Mistafide – Equidity Funk