or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $10.00 Laybuy What's this?

Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days. All orders will be shipped under Level 3 in Auckland


Brawlers presents probably the best-known of Tom Waits' personalities, filled as it is with vocal cord damage, found percussion, old-timey arrangements, and cartoon-buzz lead guitar. It's also the disc that flirts most dangerously with cliché, filled as it is with his well-trod inventory of Americana underbelly images: trains, jailhouses, barrooms, etc. However, the secret of Waits' act is how well he deploys these should-be-tired cultural touchstones; at the very least, he sounds more comfortable in the role of a boxcar-hopper than he does reciting the ripped-from-the-headlines Middle East folk song Road teo Peace. Certainly it helps that he continues to buck the aging rocker career trend of increasing cleanliness, wrapping these songs in dirt-grit production that keeps the Big Bopper warble of Lie to Me or the garage 12-bar Ramones cover The Return of Jackie and Judy from sounding like a House of Blues exhibit.


Side 1
  1. Lie To Me (Remastered)
  2. LowDown (Remastered)
  3. 2:19 (Remastered)
  4. Fish In The Jailhouse (Remastered)
Side 2
  1. Bottom Of The World (Remastered)
  2. Lucinda (Remastered)
  3. Ain't Goin' Down To The Well (Remastered)
  4. Lord I've Been Changed (Remastered)
Side 3
  1. Puttin' On The Dog (Remastered)
  2. Road To Peace (Remastered)
  3. All The Time (Remastered)
Side 4
  1. The Return Of Jackie And Judy (Remastered)
  2. Walk Away (Remastered)
  3. Sea Of Love (Remastered)
  4. Buzz Fledderjohn (Remastered)
  5. Rains On Me (Remastered)