Cart 0


Compiletely Bats

Flying Nun

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $1.99 Laybuy What's this?


Originally released on cassette in 1987, Compiletely Bats gathers together this great New Zealand bands first three EPs - By Night (1984), And Here Is Music for the Fireside (1985) and 1986s Made Up in Blue.

Now re-issued for the first time since 1990 a compilation of one of Flying Nuns most acclaimed and loved indie pop pioneers, The Bats.

These early tracks show a group that has gone on to influence countless bands around the world. And for good reason. From the opening ‚Made Up in Blue through to tracks like ‚Claudine the guitars jangle with both an optimism and a deeper melancholy that lurks just below the surface. While at times their offhand vocals and melodies tell tales of indecision and despair, The Bats also masters of a sound and feeling that can only be described as joy.

Presented in a 2xLP set with bonus b-sides + demos. Comes with free mp3 download.


Artist: The Bats
Title: Compiletely Bats
Label: Flying Nun Records
Year: 1990, Re-Issued 2014
Cat #: FNLP534/FN143
Format: Double 12" LP + Digital

Track List:

  1. Made Up In Blue
  2. Neighbours
  3. Chicken Bird Run
  4. Jewellers' Heart
  5. I Go Wild
  6. Blindfold
  7. Mad On You
  8. By Night
  9. Earwig
  10. Claudine
  11. United Airways
  12. Man In The Moon
  13. Trouble In This Town
  14. Joe's Again
  15. Offside
  16. My Way*
  17. Calm Before The Storm**
  18. Candidate**
  19. Block of Wood (Demo 1)***
  20. Block of Wood (Demo 2)***
  21. Daddy's Highway (Drum Machine Version)***Ôªø

*The Bats - By Night EP (FN024, 1984)
**The Bats - Block of Wood 7" (FN084, 1987)
*** Recorded Glasgow, 1986



Sold Out